A meat-free emergency food supply solves two problems at once: it removes every question about how the meat in a freeze-dried bucket was sourced, slaughtered or certified — halal, kosher or otherwise — and it is the cheapest way to store calories, because the base of it is rice, beans and oats in Mylar bags. It has one trap, and the listings below show it: a “120-serving vegetable bucket” is a few thousand calories of sides, and a “30-day” bottle of tablets is a vitamin supplement. Count calories, not servings, and let the buckets be the vegetables on top of a pantry of staples.
Six products below, compared on what the listings state — servings, calories where given, what is actually in the bucket — with the catch for each. No scores, no prices. Vegetarian is not automatically halal or kosher: whey, gelatin in puddings and alcohol-based flavourings show up in shelf-stable food, so the ingredient panel is still the last word. Our prepper pantry guide covers the staples; the supply calculator sizes the days and the people.
Where the calories in a meat-free month actually come from
| Layer | What | Calories, roughly | Where to get it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base | White rice, dry beans and lentils, rolled oats, pasta, flour, sugar, oil | 1,500-1,800 kcal per pound dry for grains and legumes; oil is 4,000 per pound | Any grocery store, sealed at home in Mylar with oxygen absorbers — the cheapest calories that exist, and USU Extension’s 25-30-year shelf life for white rice applies |
| Protein and fat | Peanut butter, nuts, canned beans, powdered milk or a plant-based milk powder, TVP | Dense | Grocery, rotated through the pantry (nuts and oils go rancid; do not seal them for decades) |
| Vegetables and fruit | Freeze-dried vegetable buckets, cans, dried fruit | Low: a serving of freeze-dried vegetables is often 20-40 kcal | The buckets below |
| No-cook reserve | Vegan ration bars | 2,400-3,600 per pack | The bars below, for the car and the first 72 hours |
Read a kit in that order. A month for one adult at 2,000 calories is about 60,000 calories, and no vegetable bucket on this page comes close on its own; 25 lb of rice and 10 lb of beans do, for a fraction of the money, and the buckets make them a meal.
At a glance
| Product | Best for | Servings / calories (listing) |
|---|---|---|
| ReadyWise freeze-dried vegetable bucket, 120 servings | The vegetable layer for a family pantry | 120 servings / calories not stated |
| Augason Farms vegetable medley blend, 778 servings | The most vegetables per box for a large household | 778 servings / calories not stated |
| Ready Hour fruit and vegetable bucket | Fruit as well as vegetables, for children and morale | see listing / calories not stated |
| Legacy Food Storage side dishes sampler, 24 servings | Tasting before committing to a brand | 24 servings / 1,720 kcal |
| Ready America vegan 2,400-calorie food bars, case of 24 | Cars, desks, go-bags, and a group | 24 × 2,400 kcal / vegan |
| Survival Tabs, vegan maple, 360 tablets | A vitamin backstop in a very small space | 360 tabs / see label for kcal |
Vegetable buckets: the sides
Freeze-dried vegetables rehydrate in minutes and turn rice and beans into food; they are not the calories.
ReadyWise freeze-dried vegetable bucket, 120 servings
For: The vegetable layer for a family pantry
What the listing says: 120 servings of mixed freeze-dried vegetables in a resealable bucket, long shelf-life claim, marketed for emergencies and camping; no total-calorie figure on the listing.
Before you buy: Ask what a serving is before you decide what 120 of them means: freeze-dried vegetables run a few tens of calories each. Buy this to make rice edible for a month, not to replace the rice.
Augason Farms vegetable medley blend, 778 servings
For: The most vegetables per box for a large household
What the listing says: 778 servings of pre-washed, chopped dehydrated mixed vegetables in a pail, long shelf-life claim.
Before you buy: Dehydrated (not freeze-dried) vegetables need a longer simmer and more water; on a butane stove that is fuel. Seven hundred servings is also one big pail: once opened, use it within the period the label gives.
Ready Hour fruit and vegetable bucket
For: Fruit as well as vegetables, for children and morale
What the listing says: Freeze-dried fruit and vegetable assortment in a bucket, long shelf-life claim; check the current listing for the serving count.
Before you buy: Fruit is the item children will actually eat on day three, and it is sugar, which is calories. Still a side: pair it with oats and powdered milk for a breakfast that adds up.
Legacy Food Storage side dishes sampler, 24 servings
For: Tasting before committing to a brand
What the listing says: Six freeze-dried side dishes, 24 servings, 1,720 total calories stated, up to 25-year shelf-life claim.
Before you buy: The listing prints the calorie total, which makes the arithmetic honest: 24 servings is under a day of food for one adult. It is a sampler of sides — several are dairy-based, so vegetarian but not vegan — and a way to find out what your family will eat before buying a pail of it.
No-cook vegan rations: the first 72 hours
Ready America vegan 2,400-calorie food bars, case of 24
For: Cars, desks, go-bags, and a group
What the listing says: Twenty-four lemon-flavoured vegan food bars, 2,400 calories each, resealable packaging, 10-year shelf-life claim.
Before you buy: A 2,400-calorie bar is 800 calories a day over three days, the floor and not the plan; our ration bar review works through it. A case of 24 is kits for the whole family and the neighbours; vegan makes it the bar that raises no questions at a shelter.
Survival Tabs, vegan maple, 360 tablets
For: A vitamin backstop in a very small space
What the listing says: Two bottles, 360 chewable tablets, marketed as 30 days of emergency food support for one person, 100% of 15 vitamins and minerals, 25-year shelf-life claim, vegan.
Before you buy: Read the calories per tablet on the label and multiply by the daily serving before believing “30 days”: tablets are a micronutrient supplement that keeps a hungry person functional, not a food supply. Useful in a glovebox; not a substitute for the rice.
Building the meat-free month
- Staples first, from the grocery store: white rice, dry beans or lentils, oats, pasta, sugar, salt, oil, powdered milk or a plant-based alternative. Seal the dry goods in Mylar with absorbers; rotate the oil and nuts through the kitchen. This is 80% of the calories and 20% of the cost.
- Then the buckets above for vegetables and fruit, and a sampler before a pail.
- Then the no-cook layer: vegan bars in the car and the go-bag for the 72 hours before the stove comes out.
- Water and heat: rice and beans need both. Our blackout cooking guide covers cooking outdoors safely; the water storage review covers the gallons.
- Labels, every time. Vegetarian is a category, not a certification. If halal or kosher matters in your household, the ingredient panel and any certification mark on the package are what count; plain staples are the surest route.
Our freeze-dried foods guide covers pouches bought one at a time, which is how to skip the entrées that do not fit; the apartment food review is the small-space version of this page.
FAQ
Is a vegetarian emergency food supply enough protein?
Beans and lentils with rice, peanut butter, nuts, and powdered milk or a plant-based powder cover protein comfortably for a month. The buckets of vegetables do not; they are vitamins and volume.
Are vegetarian emergency foods halal or kosher?
Not automatically. Whey, gelatin, some flavourings and shared production lines are the usual issues. Plain staples sealed at home avoid the question entirely; for packaged foods, the certification mark on the label is the only answer.
How much rice and beans for one person for a month?
On the order of 20-25 lb of rice and 8-10 lb of dry beans covers most of a 2,000-calorie month, with oil, oats and a vegetable bucket filling it out. The supply calculator sizes it for your household.
Preparing with Dan is reader-supported: as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Product details are as stated on the retailer listings at the time of writing; check the listing before you buy.
Official sources & further reading
The guidance in this article comes from official sources. Consult them directly for the authoritative version:
Dan Lockland is a preparedness instructor and survival skills educator with over 15 years of hands-on experience. He shares practical, no-nonsense guidance on emergency preparedness, self-reliance, and sustainable living at PreparingWithDan.com.





